Baked beans. Homemade and a little bit fancier and healthier than Heinz

Before I start, let me say that as a Brit it would take a lot to dent my love of Heinz Baked Beans.  But living somewhere where a can costs five times as much as they do in the UK means beans have become a huge treat in our house.  Something we have to really, really know we’re going to appreciate before we crack open one of the cans we bring back from our trips home.  Funny what can become a luxury.   My desire to make my own baked beans was partly down to this scarcity of Heinz and also to see if I could make something a little healthier than the ones in a can.

I finally found a recipe that sounded like it would do the job in Katie Quinn Davies’s beautiful new book What Katie Ate.  I have followed her blog for years. She inspired me to start this blog and try my hand at food photography.  As always, I’ve tweaked the recipe a little (one less pan to wash up and a couple of different flavors).

I won’t pretend these beans taste the same as Heinz but they keep the core of Heinz with an extra sophisticated level of gorgeousness.  And yes, they are much healthier.  Cooking a big batch is a nice weekend project and they freeze well ready for quick lunches.  I have been known to thin them down with a little chicken stock to make a thick bean soup too.  You can make them veggie by leaving out the pancetta.

I serve these  in the same way as I serve my Heinz beans.  On thickly toasted sourdough with an olive oil fried soft egg on top.  Something for the kids and for the inner child in all of us.

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
6oz (170g) pancetta cut into half inch cubes (or bought ready chopped)
1 onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, sliced
3 sprigs thyme
2x 14oz (2x 400g) cans chopped tomatoes (salt free)
1 red chili finely sliced (or a pinch of chili flakes)
1 tablespoon HP or A1 sauce
1 tablespoon Heinz tomato ketchup
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon Dijon  mustard
1 teaspoon Colmans’ English mustard
2x 14oz (2x 400g) cans cannellini beans
a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper
2 teaspoons real maple syrup
To make
1. Heat a heavy based pan.  I used my Le Creuset.  Add 1 tablespoon of oil and the pancetta.  Cook for around 5 minutes until the pancetta crisps and releases most of its fat.
2.  While the pancetta cooks, chop your onion and garlic.  Then add the garlic and onion to the cooked pancetta and continue cooking for around 5 minutes until the onion softens and turns golden.
3.  Add the tomatoes, thyme, chili, mustards, ketchup, salt and pepper and HP or A1 sauce then simmer (lid off) for around 20 minutes.  Stirring every 5 minutes to stop anything sticking.
4.  Add the drained beans and stir again.  Simmer for 10 minutes (or up to 30 minutes) on a low heat with a lid on the pan. Add the maple syrup then taste and adjust the seasoning.  Serve on toast or thin with stock to serve as a soup.
2 thoughts on “Baked beans. Homemade and a little bit fancier and healthier than Heinz

  1. Pingback: English Easter treats for lunch and brunch | yousaytomatocooking's blog

Leave a Reply

