From our party – Gin in teacups cocktail

Gemma's 'Gin in Teacups' cocktail

Gemma’s ‘Gin in Teacups’ cocktail

I’ll admit I got a bit carried away with the name.  It came from one of my favorite songs.  And yes, I know I didn’t serve this in a teacup but I do think that would be lovely for an afternoon tea party.  For a potentially raucus party I thought a sturdy mason jar would be better.

As an English girl living in California I wanted to bring a bit of Britain to our party.  So I set about researching tea cocktails and found a recipe for a tea and rosemary infused syrup.  Gin was a given and I also wanted to use one of the bags of grapefruit and lemons I had recently been given by someone who has trees drooping with the weight of unpicked fruit.

One of the girls at the party went off piste and topped her cocktail with prosecco which was amazing.  I love it when people build on a recipe and give it their own twist like that.  You could also top it with soda water to make it a little lighter.

I juiced the fruit just before the party and kept it in a big jug with a serious slosh of gin.  I made the syrup the day before and decanted that into a cute vintage milk bottle.  This allowed people to adjust the sweetness to suit their own tastes.  I served it with a curl of grapefruit skin (use a veg peeler) and a stem of rosemary over ice.

To make:

The syrup

2 cups boiling water

2 cups sugar

2 tea bags – Yorkshire Tea or a good Earl Grey (don’t even think about Liptons please!)

2 large sprigs fresh rosemary

1.  Put the tea bags into the boiling water and leave to steep off the heat for 15 minutes.

2.  Remove the tea bags and add the sugar to the pan.  Bring up to the boil and then simmer for around 5 minutes until the sugar has melted.

3.  Add the rosemary and leave to infuse for half an hour.  Taste then leave the rosemary longer if you want a stronger taste before removing.

The Cocktail

1-2oz gin (I’m a Hendricks girl)

2-3oz lemon or grapefruit juice, fresh ideally

Half an oz tea and rosemary syrup

1.  Put ice in a glass (or teacup)

2.  Mix the gin with the citrus and taste before adjusting the amount of gin

3.  Pour the gin and citrus over the ice and finish with a pour of the syrup.

4.  Stir and serve (add a dash of prosecco if you’d like an extra layer of yum)

Leave a Reply

