From our party – Fennel crusted pulled pork crostini topped with fennel and lemon

Fennel crusted pulled pork with fennel and lemon on bruschetta

Fennel crusted pulled pork with fennel and lemon on crostini

I always try to come up with new toppings for my party standard of crostini.  My inspiration usually comes from food combinations I enjoy for dinner.  In this case the inspiration came from my fallback entertaining option of 4 hour roasted pork shoulder, crusted in fennel seeds which I serve with a citrus raw fennel salad.  I usually cook some parmesan polenta to serve alongside this dinner too.

I like to cook a decent size piece of pork so that it doesn’t dry out as a smaller piece might.  It’s also a pretty cheap cut of meat so I figure I might as well cook a load of it and only have one lot of washing up.  My kids love it so I freeze individual batches of the cooked and shredded meat ready to add to pasta for their dinners.  Depending on how many crostini you make you will have leftover pork. No hardship.  Stir it through some pasta the next day, keep it for sandwiches or tacos or have it with celariac mash and veggies for dinner.

The pork recipe came from Jamie Oliver‘s ‘Jamie’s Italy’ book.  Probably my most-used cookbook.  I could go on all day about my lust for Mr Oliver but as much as I love all his books (and I do have them all), this is the one I return to time and time again.

The pork really does need some acid to off-set the richness.  Be generous with your squeeze of lemon just before you serve.

I sliced my baguette and froze it at the start of the week when I got home from the shops.  Then I pulled it out of the freezer and onto trays on the morning of the party to defrost.  I cooked it on a cookie sheet at around 400F/200C for 10 minutes or until slightly golden.  The fennel salad was also made a few hours before the party.

To make:

Pork

1kg/2lb 3oz pork shoulder (pork shoulder butt in the US)

2 tablespoons fennel seeds

Fresh ground black pepper and sea salt

1.  Preheat the oven to 325F/170C.

2.  Tip the fennel seeds, salt and pepper into a Le Creuset, or similar enamel lined pan with a lid and shake them around to mix them

3.  Roll the pork in the pan so that is covered on all sides with the spices.

4.  Put the lid on and put the pan into the oven for around 4 hours.  No need to do anything during that time and if it cooks a little longer it won’t be a problem.

5.  Drain off the fat and roughly shred the pork, be sure to scrape up the brown sticky juices at the bottom of the pan.

Fennel salad

1-2 bulbs of fennel

Juice and zest fo 2 lemons

Salt and Pepper or Chili flakes

1.  Use a mandolin or (as I do) the slicer on a standard box grater to get very thin slices of fennel.  Be sure to keep the green fronds too as they are not only beautiful but delicious.

2.  Stir the shredded fennel together with the lemon juice and zest and add salt and pepper or chili flakes to taste.

2 thoughts on “From our party – Fennel crusted pulled pork crostini topped with fennel and lemon

  1. Pingback: How to work without a recipe and find inspiration – slow roasted pork with kale pesto, roast butternut squash and greens | yousaytomatocooking's blog

  2. Pingback: Some ideas for Christmas and holiday party food | yousaytomatocooking's blog

Leave a Reply

