A cup of Cauliflower and Kale soup

I have been meaning to try this recipe for ages. I feel cauliflower is often overlooked but I’m increasingly using it to give the creaminess I want in soups without having to use cream or potatoes. This is easy peasy to make and tastes gorgeous whilst being super-virtuous. I made a big batch and froze some for lunches. My Grandma, Myra, always used to serve soup in a mug which I think is so comforting. I also took the chance to have a bash at practicing my food photography (with a real camera instead of the usual hurried iphone snaps) so hope you like it!

Cauliflower and Kale soup (makes around 8 cups)
Active prep time – 10 minutes
Cooking time – 15-20 minutes

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
Sea salt and black pepper
1 head of cauliflower, leaves, stems and florets
Veggie Broth, stock or water – around a pint and a half
A bunch of kale, roughly chopped or a bag of spinach

To make
1. Heat the oil in a large pan over a medium flame and cook the onion for 4-5 minutes until soft
2. Add the garlic and a pinch of salt then cook for a further 2 minutes. Don’t allow the garlic to brown and go bitter
3. Add the cauliflower then cover with water or stock until the cauliflower is just covered. Put the lid on the pan and bring to the boil
4. Reduce to a high simmer then cook with the lid on for around 10 minutes
5. Stir in the greens and cook for a further 2-3 minutes.
6. Puree with a stick blender or in a liquidizer, add more liquid if needed
7. Season with salt and pepper and serve as it is or with garlic rubbed toast that you have drizzled with olive oil

2 thoughts on “A cup of Cauliflower and Kale soup

  1. I’ll admit, I’m was skeptical that this would be a dish for me. However, I found it quite tasty. Not to mention a new and interesting way to get more veggies in my day.

    Now for the real confession, I made a bit of an addition. Prior to cooking the onions, I chopped up three slices of bacon and browned them. Then instead of oil, I just cooked the onions in with the bacon. I also took it easy on additional salt due to the saltiness of the bacon. The bacon per serving ratio is pretty small, but the flavor was pretty awesome.

    • Love this! All our recipes come from adapting other recipes (or just making them up). That’s what makes cooking fun. And to be fair, very little in life doesn’t benefit from some bacon. You got me thinking, it would be nice to top the soup with some crumbled crispy bacon…

Leave a Reply

